Baked Single Serve Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal

IMG_4218

IMG_4229

I know, long time no post! I have had such a hectic week with this being the second week of working in summer camp! It’s finally Sunday, and I’ve got some time to plan out my posts for the week, so fingers crossed that everything works out as planned!

Onto the purpose of this posts, there is a bit of a story behind this recipe! I have wanted to try and make baked oatmeal for the longest time, but they do take some time in the morning to make, plus there aren’t many single serve recipes out there. However, I finally decided to take a stab at creating my own this morning, and I was thoroughly impressed with myself!

The extra time required to bake oats are totally WORTH IT; these oats are chewy, sweet, have a little spice, and hit all the right notes! I thought I would miss the consistency of my stove top oats, but boy was I wrong; baking oats makes the texture similar to that of an oatmeal cookie! The flavor in the oatmeal along with this sweet and tart glaze makes this reminiscent to the flavors of a cinnamon bun! They are the perfect Sunday morning breakfast, but can honestly be eaten whenever you want something a little more special 🙂

Baked Single Serve Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal

Serves: 1

Prepping Time: 5 minutes

Cooking Time: 15-20 minutes

Ingredients

For the oatmeal:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup milk

1 extra large egg

1 tsp canola oil

“Cream Cheese Frosting” glaze, for topping

Ground walnuts (optional), for topping

For the “Cream Cheese Frosting” glaze:

1 1/2 tbsp whipped cream cheese

1/2 tbsp milk

1 tsp powdered sugar

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

2) Combine oats, cinnamon, sugar, and baking powder in an oven-proof bowl or ramekin. In separate bowl, whisk together milk, egg, and oil until thoroughly combine.

3) Add the wet ingredients into the dry in thirds, combining with every addition.

4) Once completely combined, cover bowl with aluminum foil and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until a majority of the liquid has been absorbed. After baking is complete, remove foil and adjust the oven temperature to “HIGH” broil for about a minute, just until a slight crust has been developed.

5) Remove bowl from oven, cover with foil, and allow to sit for 3-5 minutes.

6) For the glaze: combine milk and cream cheese in a small bowl- stir rapidly until there are few to no lumps. Add in the powdered sugar and stir to combine.

7) Flip the bowl over onto a plate to remove the oats, or eat straight out of the bowl! Top with cream cheese glaze, walnuts, and fruit of choice!

IMG_4234

I hope you enjoy this recipe! If you post a recreation, be sure to tag me in it @recoveryforabetterme so that I can see ❤

Leave a comment